50 Shades of Nonsense – HILARIOUS REVIEW

For weeks now I’ve been trying to figure out what exactly it is about ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ that has caused all this fuss. I’m still at a complete and utter loss. I bought it on my kindle a few weeks ago (with every intention of returning it quickly for a refund, haha), read about 15% of it, couldn’t bear to carry on and then completely forgot to return the damned thing. So now this atrociously written nonsense still sits on my virtual shelf. Maybe I’ll continue reading it one day when True Boredom eats at my skull.

So when I stumbled across this review on Goodreads, I knew that I wasn’t alone. She is absolutely HILARIOUS! I actually burst out laughing on several occasions. I really urge you to read this, it will literally make your day. It’s the gifs (those moving image things) that really make it. Sooo funny.

And she has kindly gone on to review the other two books in the trilogy, saving us from having to read page after mind-numbing page of these poorly written books. Her review of Fifty Shades Darker is equally as funny.

But at the same time, we know that Fifty Shades isn’t meant to be literary fiction, and doesn’t try to be. So why am I so mad at its success?  In my defense, is it wrong to expect a little bit of writing ability in a best-selling novelist?

I’m not a literary snob, far from, but can someone please tell me what it is about this particular book that has captured the world’s attention?? What makes this book different from any of the thousands of the Mills and Boon books published before (which, can I say, I DO read on occasion and are definitely better in quality)?

7 responses

  1. I love that you had the cajones to say – this book is crap, when everyone and his brother has jumped on the band wagon to read it. All our tastes can’t be the same, it’s fake. I’d rather have someone authentically say what they didn’t like about something than sign up to be part of the Jones,’ then generate the collective opinion. Glad to hear someone say this.

    Now I want the curious, to find you. Lol.

  2. Haha, I hear what you’re saying. A lot of the time people just want to be a part of the conversation, don’t want to be left out. But nine times out of 10 the people who rave about books like this are people who generally don’t read at all.

  3. I call it Mills and Boon with accoutrement. I have read a short spoof version that involves meeting a S&M adherent in the queue for social security and having sex by a dumpster. For some reason not quite so popular…

  4. I think housewives felt it was safer to read than Penthouse Letters. I was just talking with a friend who is a sexual therapist about this book and she said it produced ENORMOUS amounts of sexual drive in women who previously had none. That said, I have the audio book – now that’s annoying. When it is read aloud it is 100% worse! I gave my copy to my mother-in-law. Ha!

    • LOL @ audio book!! It had never occurred to me that this little gem of a book could be enjoyed orally (no pun intended). Did you actually finish listening to it? I can only hope that your relationship with your mother-in-law can withstand this book, very brave of you.

      • My husband and I bought it for a road trip, but we couldn’t finish it. We even tried to make a drinking game of it- every time she said something *really* annoying we had to take a drink. That was dangerous. We never made it past a chapter. . but I heard that this book originated as a blog, fan fiction for Twilight. It was so popular that the author turned it into a book.

Leave a Reply

