New York Times 10 Best Books of 2012….meh

So I wasn’t blown away by this list if I’m honest. I’m not eager to buy any of these titles though I do own Jim Holt’s ‘Why Does the World Exist?’ (it was a free book acquired during an internship; can’t say no to a free book). The only books from this year that I’m eager to read are ‘The Art of Fielding’ by Chad Harbach and ‘This Is How You Lose Her’ by Junot Diaz. What have been your favourite books of this year (if any)? Or like me, do you find that you read random and sometimes obscure books from any time period?

3 responses

  1. Can’t say I’m impressed either, especially since I haven’t even seen this books around before, and I often haunt the local bookshop. =/ This year has been relatively good reading-wise; unlike last year, I haven’t crossed paths with any 1-star books! …yet. Some of my favourites were The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card and Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer.

  2. This list leaves me cold, although i have yet to read NW and I’m kind of excited about that. I absolutely hated HOLOGRAM FOR THE KING and I believe it’s another instance of an author receiving undue attention just based on his name…a la Jonathan Franzen last year.
    Where’s A LAND MORE KIND THAN HOME or TELL THE WOLVES I’M HOME or GONE GIRL or BEAUTIFUL RUINS.
    I’d really better get around to posting my own list — which, yes, does include a number of titles not published in 2012.

Leave a Reply

