From My Bookshelf…

SAM_2347

9 responses

  1. Ditto on A Thousand Splendid Suns. Rich, informative and heartbreaking. I’ve always meant to read Midnight’s Children but just haven’t gotten around to it. Great choices overall I think.

    • I should probably point out that I’ve read a grand total of 3 books in this pile. Adding to this pile before reading it is what I’m generally good at. I do remember liking Blackbird if you ever get the chance. Have you ever read any Salman Rushdie? I’m yet to have that ‘pleasure’. I do dislike the man quite a bit. An example of why: He’s written a memoir in which he refers to himself in the third person. How up yourself can you get?!

      • I haven’t read him yet, but I like magical realism in general so he’s been recommended to me. I don’t know anything about him personally (you know, other than than the death threats…)

    • Ooh, I haven’t read her yet I’m afraid (oops). Don’t think I even own one of her books come to think of it. It’s my sister who poisoned my mind against her, so it’s totally not my fault.

      • No! On Beauty is her best novel. And she has a great piece of non-fiction in a recent New Yorker, called Notes on Attunement. Yes, I have a literary crush on her, I am hopelessly biased…

  2. SO MANY PRETTY BOOKS! 😀 (Sorry, I have a problem) This blog post makes me feel all happy and warm inside, it’s so weird how looking at pictures of books makes me happy, lol.

    I have A Thousand Splendid Suns on my bookshelf and I can’t wait to read it. Hope you enjoy your lovely books!

Leave a Reply

